See who are the designers nominated for the CFDA Awards 2020

The annual award ceremony that gave us Rihanna in a nearly-naked Adam Selman dress is going digital this year.
Reading time 4 minutes

As the Council of Fashion Designers of America just announced the nominees for the CFDA Awards 2020, the glamorous event celebrating the crème de la crème of America’s most exceptional fashion creatives, the Council are determined to move ahead in-lieu of an in-person event due to the coronavirus pandemic in committing to “recognize the nominees representing the best of fashion creativity". 

With the winners being set to be announced virtually on the morning of 14th September 2020 on, this decision to digitalize the highly-anticipated annual affair, the CFDA will be “prioritizing new and existing programming to support our designer community during the global pandemic – by redirecting efforts towards next-generation scholarships and making important changes to bring racial equity to the fashion industry”, according to President and CEO Steven Kolb. 

From established pioneers in the American Fashion world such as Tom Ford and Marc Jacobs, who have multiple wins under their belt, to upcoming familiar brands making waves like Staud, look through the names in fashion that were nominated this year:

1595471188766769 jlotomford

American Womenswear Designer of the Year

Ashley Olsen & Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row

Brandon Maxwell 

Gabriella Hearst

Marc Jacobs

Tom Ford

American Menswear Designer of the Year

Emily Adams Bode for Bode

Kerby Jean-Raymond for Pyer Moss

Thom Browne

Todd Snyder

Tom Ford 

American Accessories Designer of the Year

Ashley Olseann & Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row 

Gabriela Hearst

Jennifer Fisher for Jennifer Fished Jewelry 

Stuart Vevers for Coach 

Telfar Clemens for Telfar

American Emerging Designer of the Year

Christopher John Rogers

Kenneth Nicholson

Peter Do

Reese Cooper

Sarah Staudinger & George Augusto for Staud 

Global Women’s Designer of the Year

Daniel Lee for Bottega Veneta

Dries Van Noten 

Miuccia Prada for Prada

Pierpaolo Piccioli for Valentino 

Rick Owens

Global Men’s Designer of the Year

Craig Green

Dries Van Noten 

Jonathan Anderson for Loewe

Kim Jones for Dior 

Virgil Abloh for Louis Vuitton



related posts

Recommended posts for you